Films I Am (And Am Not) Looking Forward To In 2010

So far the films that I have watched this year have all been very old. So far most of the movies have been from the 1950s, while there has also been one film from the 1920s and one from the 1930s. So far I have not watched a modern film, which is something that I plan to rectify soon. Whilst you may think that I am an old fuddy duddy who just likes mouldy old movies. Whilst there may be some truth in that statement I do still like going to the cinema to watch the latest blockbuster. Whilst I don’t plan on seeing Avatar anytime soon, due to my innate hatred of motion capture technology and the uncanny valley syndrome, there are a number of movies that I do want to see.

Films I Want To See

Fantastic Mr. Fox

I am planning to see this at the cinema in the next couple of weeks. I am a fan of stop-motion animation and I have heard that the animation in Wes Anderson’s film is simply amazing. I have heard that many British critics have been critical of Anderson’s Americanization of the film which is of course based on Roald Dahl’s very British novel, but that is not something that would necessarily annoy me.

The Princess & The Frog

I am unashamedly a fan of Disney’s classic animation. I love all the original classics made during Walt’s time from Snow White & The Seven Dwarfs to The Jungle Book. I also have a fondness for the films that came during Disney’s revival period of the late 80s and 90s, from The Little Mermaid to Mulan. I was quite disappointed when Disney ditched their traditional animation stuff in favour of CGI, but am glad they have returned to hand drawn animation. The Princess And The Frog is meant to be a good return and hopefully things can only get better.

Toy Story 3

I hate sequels but love Pixar and I would love to see what Woody and Buzz and the gang have gotten up to since we last saw them. Pixar have not had a dud film yet, so I am really looking forward to this one. The only film that Pixar has made that I believe has not been great has been Cars, although I thought that it was a lot better than many of the critics did.

Robin Hood

Ridely Scott and Russel Crowe gave us the brilliant Gladiator a decade ago and I have high hopes for this film. However I do wonder whether this film is completely necessary. There are several great Hood films that have been made throughout the history of cinema from the 1938 Adventures Of Robin Hood starring another Australian in Errol Flynn and directed by Michael Curtiz, to Disney’s live-action film The Story Of Robin Hood And His Merrie Men from 1952, to Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves starring Kevin Costner. Scott and Crowe have lot to live up to and I really hope they can bring something new to the legend.

The Wolf Man

Benicio Del Toro and Anthony Hopkins star in this remake of the Lon Chaney Jr. classic from 1941. It would be great to see the werewolf legend updated for the 21st century as the image of monsters has taken a battering thanks to Twilight. Monsters are simply not meant to sparkle or drive Aston Martins or be vegetarians.

Films That I Would Never Watch Even If I Was Paid To Do So

Sex And The City II

I have never seen the Sex & The City TV show or movie but from what I have read the basic premise is that it revolves around a bunch or horny middle-aged women who just want to get laid and buy expensive clothing and handbags. This is the show that made the horse-faced Sarah Jessica Parker a sex symbol and helped increase consumerism in women ten-fold. Ancient fossil Kim Cattrall will probably appear nude in this and say some curse words, which all of S&TC’s fans will think is cutting edge but in reality is just boring. I still don’t get what all the fuss is about.

Twilight: Eclipse

Another chick flick that I have no desire to ever see. Apparently Stephanie Mayer has made billions of dollars by writing books that completely distort the vampire myth. Instead of being monsters the blood-suckers are now new-age, non-threatening sex symbols for tweens and their mums. They now sparkle in the daylight and are vegetarians and they happily share their curse with those that they love. How sickening.

Films I Am Not So Sure About

Shrek Forever After

Despite what Dreamworks’ many detractors say, the first two Shrek films were very funny animated films. I laugh a lot whenever I see these two films. Sure they are not as polished as Pixar’s masterpieces are, but they are still very funny. Shrek The Third on the other hand was one of the most boring films I have seen. I was really looking forward to seeing it when I went to the cinema but found myself completely bored out of my mind when I finally watched it. (2007 really was a year for crappy, boring sequels)

Leave a Reply

